Shopping Cart

No products in shopping cart

REGISTER AND SAVE 😎

✓ 10 € welcome voucher
✓ Exclusive discounts
✓ Updates on new products
✓ Tutorials + instructions
✓ Not too many emails 🙂

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.

Does the Baucher bit fit my horse?

Assessing the fit of the Baucher bits can be a little tricky when using this bit shape for the first time - especially when it comes to a Ported Baucher Bit . That's why I keep getting questions on this topic, which I would like to address in this article.

Is the Ported Baucher Bit too small?

In most cases, my customers have the impression that the Baucher Bit is too small. In some cases, this is actually true because they have previously used a bit from a manufacturer who is very generous with the ratio of the size to the real size and the run-out area of the bit was not measured at the edge. As a result, the bits is larger in real size. With López, the size specification corresponds very precisely to the real size. Size 135, for example, is then about 135 to max. 137 mm long in reality. Another reason may be that the horse has very fleshy and pronounced lips. In this case, too, it may be advisable to choose a size larger.

And then there is the second case: the bit looks too small, but it isn't necessarily. To demonstrate this case, I tested two different bit sizes on my own horse.


Save now with our newsletter

✓ 10 € welcome voucher
✓ Exclusive discounts
✓ Updates on new products
✓ Tutorials + instructions
✓ Not too many emails 🙂

[mo-optin-form id="EBhcNsBFFZ"]


The practical test on the horse

My horse wears size 135 in 99.9% of all cases. I have also chosen size 135 for the Baucher bits that we use every day.This is becauseit is essential for the ported mouthpiece to fit properly in order to enable precise action. bit sits close to the corners of the mouth, as can be seen on the left-hand side of the series of pictures. If tension is applied to the reins on one side, the side piece on the opposite side pushes the webbing at the corners of the mouth slightly together and the Baucher Bit can "unfold" its lateral effect.


In the series of pictures on the right, my horse is wearing a size 145 mm. When standing, this looks quite comfortable at the corners of the mouth. The initial impression is that this is even more comfortable for the horse, as there is more space at the edge for the lips. However, as soon as there is a little more traction on one side, the soft tissue at the corners of the mouth pushes together (as usual) on the opposite side. And on the side "with traction", the bit slips out of the mouth by about one centimeter. As a result, the ported mouthpiece hangs "in the air" to a certain extent and can develop a life of its own, which is unpleasant for the horse. There is also a greater risk of canting. Despite the good first impression, this size is unsuitable and too big for my horse.

Do I have to choose a different size if I want to use rubberbit guards ?

The bits from López are still genuine craftsmanship. This also includes the angular shape of the side pieces. I therefore recommend the use of rubberbit guards for horses with very sensitive mouth angles, as is common practice with Iberian curbs. The easiest way to attach the rubberbit guards is to first pull it over the upper bit and then over the lower ring. The photos clearly show that the use of bit guards does not necessarily affect the size selection of the bit . Although the bit guards are usually 5 mm thick, they fit snugly between the corner of the mouth and side piece even without choosing a larger bit . Accordingly, I would prefer size 135 for this horse, even with rubberbit guards .


That wasn't clear enough for you? Here's the video on the topic:

Does the Baucher bit fit my horse?

Fanni Kovács
Fanni Kovács

I am Fanni, the founder and owner of Picadera. For me, the right, functional equipment is part of my identity as a rider. It is not only important to me to find the riding equipment that suits my horse and me, but also the process - from the decision for a product to the moment I hold it in my hands. Driven by this, I started thinking about how to improve the situation for riders in Germany and Austria who are interested in Iberian and Baroque riding, as well as Working Equitation, at the beginning of 2017. The result is Picadera. If you have any feedback, questions or comments, please send me a message.

Article: 28

NOW: Up to 50% discount in the winter sale

X

Die Passform eines Bauchergebisses zu beurteilen, kann bei der ersten Verwendung dieser Gebissform etwas knifflig sein – insbesondere, wenn es um eine Baucherstange geht. Daher erreichen mich immer wieder Fragen zu diesem Thema, die ich in diesem Beitrag gerne aufgreifen möchte.

Ist die Baucherstange zu klein?

Meist geht es darum, dass meine Kundinnen am Pferd den Eindruck haben, dass das Bauchergebiss zu klein ist. In manchen Fällen stimmt dies auch tatsächlich, da sie zuvor ein Gebiss von einem Hersteller verwendet haben, der sehr großzügig mit dem Verhältnis Größenangabe zu Realmaß umgeht und der Auslaufbereich des Gebisses am Rand nicht mit gemessen wurde. Dementsprechend fallen die Gebisse dann im Realmaß größer aus. Bei López entspricht die Größenangabe sehr genau dem Realmaß. Größe 135 z. B. ist dann in Realität etwa 135 bis max. 137 mm lang. Ein weiterer Grund kann sein, dass das Pferd sehr fleischige und ausgeprägte Lippen hat. Auch in diesem Fall kann die Wahl einer Nummer größer angezeigt sein.

Und dann gibt es den zweiten Fall: das Gebiss sieht zu klein aus, ist es aber nicht unbedingt. Um diesen Fall zu demonstrieren, habe ich zwei verschiedene Gebissgrößen an meinem eigenen Pferd getestet.

Der Praxistest am Pferd

Mein Pferd trägt in 99,9% aller Fälle Größe 135. Für die Baucherstange, die wir im Alltag verwenden, habe ich ebenfalls die Größe 135 gewählt. Denn um eine präzise Einwirkung mit der Stange zu ermöglichen, ist es unerlässlich, dass diese passend sitzt.Wie auf der linken Seite der Bilderreihe zu sehen, sitzt das Gebiss dicht an den Maulwinkeln. Wird an einer Seite Zug am Zügel ausgeübt, schiebt das Seitenteil der gegenüberliegende Seite das Gewebe an den Maulwinkeln etwas zusammen und das Bauchergebiss kann seine seitliche Einwirkung „entfalten“.


Auf der rechten Bilderreihe trägt mein Pferd die Größe 145 mm. Im Stand sieht das an den Maulwinkeln recht komfortabel aus. Es entsteht zunächst der Eindruck, dass dies für das Pferd noch angenehmer ist, da mehr Platz am Rand für die Lippen bleibt. Sobald allerdings etwas mehr Zug auf einer Seite entsteht, schiebt sich (wie gehabt) auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite das weiche Gewebe an den Maulwinkeln zusammen. Und auf der Seite „mit Zug“ rutscht das Gebiss etwa einen Zentimeter aus dem Maul heraus. In der Folge hängt die Stange gewissermaßen „in der Luft“ und kann ein, für das Pferd unangenehmes, Eigenleben entwickeln. Ebenso wird die Gefahr des Verkantens größer. Trotz des guten ersten Eindrucks ist diese Größe für mein Pferd unpassend und zu groß.

Muss ich eine andere Größe wählen, wenn ich Gummi-Gebissscheiben verwenden möchte?

Die Gebisse von López sind noch echte Handwerkskunst. Dazu gehört auch die kantige Form der Seitenteile. Daher empfehle ich bei Pferden mit sehr empfindlichen Maulwinkeln die Verwendung von Gummi-Gebissscheiben, wie es auch bei den iberischen Kandaren gängige Praxis ist. Am einfachsten geht das Anbringen der Gummi-Gebissscheiben, wenn man diese zuerst über den Oberbaum und dann über den unteren Ring zieht. Auf den Fotos ist schön zu sehen, dass sich die Verwendung von Gebissscheiben nicht zwangsläufig auf die Größenauswahl des Gebisses auswirkt. Obwohl die Gebissscheiben meist eine Stärke von 5 mm haben, schmiegen sie sich auch ohne ein größeres Gebiss zu wählen, gut zwischen Maulwinkel und Seitenteil an. Dementsprechend würde ich bei diesem Pferd auch mit Gummi-Gebissscheiben die Größe 135 präferieren.