Shopping cart

No products in shopping cart

The transition bit from snaffle to Curb Bit - the Vaquero-Kimblewick-ported mouthpiece

For some riders it is the transition bit from the snaffle to the Curb Bit, to gain first experience with a mild lever bit. For many, however, it can also be the permanent solution for everyday training - the Kimblewick, also known as a jumping curb bit or baby curb bit, a special form of the Pelham. However, it has a smaller lever, so the effect on the neck and lower jaw is milder. Especially among riders of Iberian horses and also in the equestrian discipline Working Equitation the Kimblewick enjoys increasing popularity.


Click on the button below to load the content of bb434c12.sibforms.com.

Load content

Find out more about the newsletter and the voucher conditions here. By registering, you agree to our privacy policy.

✓ 10 € welcome voucher
✓ Exclusive discounts
✓ Updates on new products
✓ Tutorials + instructions
✓ Not too many emails 🙂

[mo-optin-form id="EBhcNsBFFZ"]


The Kimblewick in the Vaquero variant

The Vaquero Kimblewick by López combines the main functions of a classic Kimblewick with the experience and advantages of traditional Spanish craftsmanship.

The elaborately crafted, movable side pieces of this bit offer a variety of buckling options for the reins. Depending on your preference, the bar effect - similar to a Baucher-ported mouthpiece - or the leverage effect can be emphasized. Likewise, a use with two pairs of reins is possible.


Vaquero Kimblewick vs. Uxeter Kimblewick - what is the difference between the two variants?

In addition to the Vaquero Kimblewick , you can also find the Uxeter Kimblewick in classic English design with ported mouthpiece in the Picadera online shop. Both bits are made by López in Spain. At first glance, only the look seems to be different, but there are also significant functional differences between the two Kimblewick versions.

  • Buckling possibilities of the reins:

The Uxeter Kimblewick offers three buckling options for the reins - running in the large D-ring or fixed in one of the two eyelets. In comparison, the Vaquero Kimblewick is characterised by a mixed form of these buckling options. If the reins are buckled in the upper half of the D-ring, the bar effect of the bit is generally emphasised. At the same time, the position of the reins is not quite as fixed as when they are buckled in the upper eyelet of the Uxeter Kimblewick. This means that the rein still has the possibility to "run". If the horse's head is too low, the rein automatically slides into the upper part of the ring and the action is more straightening towards the corner of the mouth. If the horse's head and neck are too high, the rein slips down and the bit acts more on the tongue and loading. Especially in combination with a second pair of reins in the lower half of the D-ring, to use the leverage effect, this enables a variety of influence possibilities and differentiated rein aids.

  • Bit strength & weight of the Kimblewick:

The mouthpiece of the Vaquero is slightly thicker than that of the Uxeter Kimblewick, with a thickness of 20 and 16 mm respectively. This, and the special design of the side pieces, makes the Vaquero Kimblewick a little heavier overall than the Uxeter Kimblewick. Many horses appreciate the higher weight very much, as it lies very quietly and stably in the mouth.

  • Connection between mouthpiece and side panels:

Both Kimblewick variants are equipped with movable side panels. The mouthpiece of the Spanish Vaquero Kimblewick also has a minimal vertical play. This makes rein aids seem somewhat milder and less direct than with the Uxeter Kimblewick. The possibility of tilting the ported mouthpiece is also reduced by the slight play.


Available mouthpieces for the Vaquero Kimblewick

In the Picadera online shop you can also get the two most popular López bar mouthpieces at Vaquero Kimblewick .

The classic mouthpiece with low port

The ported mouthpiece with low port is gladly accepted by many horses because it lies more evenly and quietly on the tongue than a snaffle bit. The low port relieves pressure on the middle of the tongue, making the bit suitable for horses with normal to fleshy tongues. This mouthpiece has a thickness of 20 mm at the sides and tapers to approx. 10 mm towards the middle.

The further developed Mullen Mouth mouthpiece by López

The further developed Mullen Mouth ported mouthpiece is slightly curved over the entire length and therefore lies particularly evenly on the tongue when in contact with the reins. This makes it suitable for horses with very fleshy tongues. When the reins are pulled in, the entire bit tips forward. On a bridled horse this means that the curvature of the Mullen Mouth frees the tongue somewhat and gives it sufficient space. This is in complete contrast to bar bits, which are curved forwards! These press more into the tongue when the reins are pulled and can squeeze it uncomfortably. Based on this experience, López revised the Mullen Mouth mouthpiece in cooperation with veterinarians in 2018 and adjusted the curvature. This mouthpiece has a thickness of 16 mm over its entire length.

GO DIRECTLY TO KIMBLEWICK & PELHAM.

Kimblewick ported mouthpiece Vaquero made of stainless steel at Picadera

The mouthpiece classic: Kimblewick ported mouthpiece Vaquero with low port

Kimblewick ported mouthpiece Mullen Mouth made of stainless steel at Picadera

For horses with particularly fleshy tongues: Kimblewick ported mouthpiece Vaquero Mullen Mouth


Fanni Kovács
Fanni Kovács

I am Fanni, the founder and owner of Picadera. For me, the right, functional equipment is part of my identity as a rider. It is not only important to me to find the riding equipment that suits my horse and me, but also the process - from the decision for a product to the moment I hold it in my hands. Driven by this, I started thinking about how to improve the situation for riders in Germany and Austria who are interested in Iberian and Baroque riding, as well as Working Equitation, at the beginning of 2017. The result is Picadera. If you have any feedback, questions or comments, please send me a message.

Article: 28

Für manche Reiterinnen und Reiter ist es das Übergangsgebiss von der Trense zur Kandare, um erste Erfahrungen mit einem milden Hebelgebiss zu sammeln. Für viele kann es aber auch dauerhaft die passende Lösung für das alltägliche Training sein – das Kimblewick, auch als Springkandare oder Babykandare bezeichnet, eine Sonderform des Pelhams. Allerdings hat es einen kleineren Hebel, wodurch die Wirkung auf Genick und Unterkiefer milder ausfällt. Gerade bei ReiterInnen von iberischen Pferden und auch in der Reitsportdisziplin Working Equitation erfreut sich das Kimblewick zunehmender Beliebtheit.

Das Kimblewick in der Vaquero-Variante

Das Kimblewick Goyoaga Vaquero von López vereint die Hauptfunktionen eines klassischen Kimblewicks mit der Erfahrung und den Vorteilen traditionell-spanischer Handwerkskunst.

Die aufwendig gearbeiteten, beweglichen Seitenteile dieses Gebisses bieten vielfältige Verschnallungsmöglichkeiten für die Zügel. Je nach Wunsch, kann so die Stangenwirkung – ähnlich einer Baucher-Stange – oder die Hebelwirkung betont werden. Ebenso ist eine Verwendung mit zwei Paar Zügeln möglich.

Vaquero Kimblewick vs. Uxeter Kimblewick – was unterscheidet die beiden Varianten?

Im Picadera-Onlineshop findest du neben dem Kimblewick Goyoaga Vaquero auch das Uxeter Kimblewick in klassisch-englischem Design mit Stangenmundstück. Beide Gebisse werden von López in Spanien hergestellt. Auf den ersten Blick, scheint nur die Optik verschieden zu sein, allerdings gibt es auch wesentliche, funktionale Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Kimblewick-Varianten.

  • Verschnallungsmöglichkeiten der Zügel:

Das Uxeter Kimblewick bietet drei Verschnallungsoptionen für die Zügel – laufend im großen D-Ring oder wahlweise fest in einer der beiden Ösen. Im Vergleich dazu zeichnet sich das Vaquero Kimblewick durch eine Mischform dieser Verschnallungsmöglichkeiten aus. Werden die Zügel in der oberen Hälfte des D-Ring verschnallt, wird generell die Stangenwirkung des Gebisses betont. Gleichzeit ist die Zügelposition nicht ganz so fest vorgegeben, wie bei der Verschnallung in der oberen Öse des Uxeter Kimblewicks. Das heißt, der Zügel hat immer noch die Möglichkeit zu „laufen“. Nimmt das Pferd seinen Kopf zu tief, rutscht der Zügel automatisch in den oberen Bereich des Ringes und die Einwirkung erfolgt mehr aufrichtend in Richtung Maulwinkel. Gerät das Pferd in eine zu hohe Kopf-Hals-Position, rutscht der Zügel herunter und das Gebiss wirkt mehr auf Zunge und Laden. Gerade in Kombination mit einem zweiten Zügelpaar in der unteren Hälfte des D-Ring, zur Nutzung der Hebelwirkung, ermöglicht dies vielfältige Einwirkungsmöglichkeiten und differenzierte Zügelhilfen.

  • Gebissstärke & Gewicht des Kimblewicks:

Das Mundstück des Goyoaga Vaquero ist mit einer Stärke von 20 bzw. 16 mm etwas dicker als das des Uxeter Kimblewicks. Dadurch, und durch die spezielle Gestaltung der Seitenteile, ist das Vaquero Kimblewick insgesamt etwas schwerer als das Uxeter Kimblewick. Viele Pferde wissen das höhere Gewicht sehr zu schätzen, da es sehr ruhig und stabil im Maul liegt.

  • Verbindung zwischen Mundstück und Seitenteilen:

Beide Kimblewick-Varianten sind mit beweglichen Seitenteilen ausgestattet. Das Mundstück des Goyoaga Vaquero hat zudem ein minimales vertikales Spiel. Dadurch wirken Zügelhilfen etwas milder und weniger direkt als bei dem Uxeter Kimblewick. Auch die Möglichkeit des Verkantens der Stange wird durch das leichte Spiel reduziert.

 

Verfügbare Mundstücke für das Vaquero Kimblewick

Im Picadera-Onlineshop erhältst du die zwei beliebtesten Stangenmundstücke von López auch am Vaquero Kimblewick.

Das klassische Mundstück mit kleiner Zungenfreiheit

Das Stangenmundstück mit kleiner Zungenfreiheit wird von vielen Pferden gerne angenommen, da es gleichmäßiger und ruhiger auf der Zunge liegt als ein Trensengebiss. Die kleine Zungenfreiheit entlastet die Zungenmitte, wodurch sich das Gebiss für Pferde mit normaler bis fleischiger Zunge eignet. Dieses Mundstück hat an den Seiten eine Stärke von 20 mm und verjüngt sich zur Mitte hin auf ca. 10 mm.

Das weiterentwickelte Mullen Mouth Mundstück von López

Das weiterentwickelte Mullen Mouth Stangenmundstück ist über die gesamte Länge leicht gebogen und liegt daher bei Zügelkontakt besonders gleichmäßig auf der Zunge auf. So ist es auch für Pferde mit sehr fleischiger Zunge geeignet. Bei Zügelanzug kippt das gesamte Gebiss nach vorne ab. Am beigezäumten Pferd bedeutet dies, dass die Wölbung des Mullen Mouth die Zunge etwas freigibt und ihr ausreichend Platz bietet. Ganz im Gegensatz zu Stangengebissen, die nach vorne gewölbt sind! Diese drücken sich bei Zügelanzug vermehrt in die Zunge und können diese unangenehm abquetschen. Aus dieser Erfahrung heraus hat López das Mullen Mouth Mundstück in Zusammenarbeit mit Tierärzten im Jahr 2018 überarbeitet und die Wölbung angepasst. Dieses Mundstück hat über die gesamte Länge eine Stärke von 16 mm.

HIER GEHT’S DIREKT ZU DEN KIMBLEWICK-STANGEN IM VAQUERO-STIL

Kimblewick Goyoaga Vaquero bei Picadera

Der Mundstück-Klassiker: Kimblewick Goyoaga Vaquero mit kleiner Zungenfreiheit

Für Pferde mit besonders fleischiger Zunge: Kimblewick Goyoaga Vaquero mit Mullen Mouth Mundstück